Flying the Thomas Morse S4C

Ask other modelers for a little help / knowledge ?

Flying the Thomas Morse S4C

Postby elkhart » Sun Aug 21, 2016 9:58 am

I picked up a used laser cut S4C kit, looks like someone started the kit then realized they were in over their head. The tail pieces were started, I'll have to rebuild them. Other than that the kit seems to be in good shape. I was planning to build it for display, but I keep thinking how awesome it would look in the air! Has anyone flown one? What was your experience? Any building tips?

I've never built a bipe, so I'm also wondering if I'm in over my head! Should I start with something simpler, like a Tom Tit or Born Loser? I've scratch built, so I feel they are within my level of skill.

Thanks for your help!
elkhart

Re: Flying the Thomas Morse S4C

Postby WIDDOG » Sun Aug 21, 2016 5:30 pm

Hi Elkhart.

I'm a Free Flight model builder. In my humble opinion i would start out with either the Guillow's 600 Series or 900 series kits.

Also i recommend Don Ross's book Rubber Powered Model Airplanes.

WIDDOG

Postby Bill Gaylord » Mon Aug 22, 2016 12:54 am

The nose is a bit longer than the Camel, which should help. I've flown the SE5a and Camel, but only as electric r/c models. My concern with the Scout would be keeping the tail light enough, so as to not have to add excessive nose weight to balance. It should fly, but the times would be short, as the weight increases.
Bill Gaylord

Postby elkhart » Mon Aug 22, 2016 7:48 am