New to the hobby and forum, need some advice

Ask other modelers for a little help / knowledge ?

New to the hobby and forum, need some advice

Postby TimsCustoms1982 » Thu Oct 22, 2015 7:19 pm

Hello everyone,

My name is Tim, and while I built a Cessna balsa model with my grandfather, and have been building plastic scale models since I was a kid, I consider myself "new" to this hobby, and would like to ask a few questions of some of the vets here before I dive in to make sure I invest wisely.

What would you all recommend as a good first build? I am very mechanically inclined and a carpenter by trade, so suffice to say I would like it to be a full build type of plane, not just a couple of pieces of wood here and there. Something that involves all of the different facets of the hobby (save for flying at the moment, one thing at a time) and will provide me with a challenge.

I guess I'm mostly looking for a nice display piece to give me an idea of how these things go together. Really prefer warbirds over commercial or private craft, but if that is honestly where I should start I will take the advice of the boards.

Thanks in advance and I look forward to learning from you all and enjoying the forums. Been looking through the. For a while now and finally got my account activated, so I'm real excited to get started.
TimsCustoms1982

Re: New to the hobby and forum, need some advice

Postby NcGunny » Fri Oct 23, 2015 2:02 am

Pick yourself up something you like in the 500 series and read the intstructions thoroughly then dive in. Dont be surprised if you are kinda weirded out by the difference in styrene and balsa. The in depth detail just wont be there for ya to fuss over. I came from 30+ years of styrene to balsa and it was a weird transition. Still get my styrene fix...just not as.much now. Enjoy the hobby..
NcGunny

Postby WIDDOG » Fri Oct 23, 2015 5:57 pm