"Smooth look to fuselage and wings"

Ask other modelers for a little help / knowledge ?

"Smooth look to fuselage and wings"

Postby DRhoads » Fri Mar 13, 2015 9:34 am

I have two questions of my fellow kit builders. I am a pretty good kit builder, but have noticed occasional photos of planes in the “modeler’s photos” section that show REALLY smooth surfaces on fuselage and wing constructions. I.e. underlying formers and stringers totally invisible. I added twice as many stringers to both fuselage and wing in an effort to create a “smoother” look to my last build (the Spitfire). Succeeded to good extent. But, a few of you folks must have some secrets to do this REALLY well. Would you share with me?
Also, where can one purchase scaled “pilots” for use in some of the plane kits that don’t include pilots? Would like to do this but haven’t been successful in finding them. Does Guillow offer such a thing? Someone else? THANKS for any help on this.
DRhoads

Re: "Smooth look to fuselage and wings"

Postby BillParker » Fri Mar 13, 2015 9:47 am

The short version is either sheet your model with 1/32" balsa, or infill with chunks of 3/32 balsa. Then sand and fill till you just can't bear to live anymore, then cover with tissue, dope and prime and sand some more, and prime and sand, till you die again, then paint it.

But if you want to fly the plane don't do any of that.

Infill: (Mitch's Rufe)

William H. Parker Jr. (Bill Parker)
President, Parker Information Resources
http://www.parkerinfo.com/ap.htm bparker@parkerinfo.com
BillParker

Postby BillParker » Fri Mar 13, 2015 9:50 am

Guillows Series 2000 - B-29 Super Fortress by julinick. Completely infilled...

BillParker

Postby Mitch » Fri Mar 13, 2015 10:00 am

Actually the first picture is my Zero Trainer 2 seater, not the Rufe, you can see the extended canopy, and the second instrument panel.

That's about what I was going to say and here is the new FW with B1 to B2 filled in: