To scallop or not to scallop, That is the question!

Ask other modelers for a little help / knowledge ?

To scallop or not to scallop, That is the question!

Postby tail spin » Tue Sep 09, 2014 1:23 pm

Hello everyone I wanted to pick a few brains after reading about Balsa FF Modelers using the method of "Scalloping" the formers. Does it weaken the structure, and if tissueing a fuse in partial patches as some of the 500 series requires should it be done at all? Or as a display model only ? I understand it lightens the airframe & every gram counts. Being that I am a newbie & trying to down load so much of the building technique in my head for a successful build. I would appreciate some enlightenment on the pro's & con's of the subject if someone wouldn't mind taking the time to explain. I did do a search on the forum on this subject & that is how I found out what scalloping was & not the custom paint jobs on old lead sled automobiles! :mrgreen: Thank you for any replies!
G'day !
tail spin

Re: To scallop or not to scallop, That is the question!

Postby Wildpig » Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:44 pm

Personally, never used the scallop technique. I know that method is used on some full size wooden aircraft. The Fairchild 24 being one of them. I sure it does reduce some weight and improves appearance.
I don't think it would prove to be any real difficulty as far as tissuing goes.
Wildpig

Postby David Lewis » Tue Sep 09, 2014 4:40 pm

It's usually lighter not to scallop. In the upper picture stress is higher and evenly distributed (wood works harder). In the lower picture, the wood below the red dashed line experiences lower stress (loafs).
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
David Lewis

Postby tail spin » Tue Sep 09, 2014 7:18 pm

Thank you for your replies.
tail spin

Postby Bill Gaylord » Tue Sep 09, 2014 7:42 pm