Howdy, I am new to guillows

Ask other modelers for a little help / knowledge ?

Howdy, I am new to guillows

Postby Angie332 » Wed Jun 25, 2014 1:39 pm

Just this year I started building balsa airplane model. I started building to be involved with my husband. He likes plastic models. This is my first plane it is a P-40, sure would appreciate any advice anyone my have.

20140602_143157.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Angie332

Re: Howdy, I am new to guillows

Postby zoomie » Wed Jun 25, 2014 7:14 pm

Hi Angie332, welcome to the Guillow's MB Forum :) .

For your first stick & tissue model, your P-40 looks great. Looks like a cross between an early WW2 USAAC and a Flying Tigers color scheme and markings. Whatever...it works and looks fantastic IMO. Especially like the shark mouth, super job!

Tell us more about it...the paint you used, how you did the markings and any other details about how you built your model.

You're off to a great start, and thanks for sharing :) .

zoomie
zoomie

Postby Angie332 » Wed Jun 25, 2014 7:50 pm

OMG. Thank you so much for responding :-) this P-40 was originally my husband's model. I stole it from him and got hooked to how much fun it is to make something from a bunch of sticks :-)
I used wood glue to stick the wood pieces together. Dope to seal the wood and 50/50 dope to glue the tissue paper. Sprayed water on to shrink my paper. Doped it .The paint was air brushed on I used testers paint. The shark mouth ,eyes and other stuff was decals from sqaudarn.
I am working on a hellcat at this moment. I found color tissue paper I want to cover.
I have ordered new toys to hopefully help me get my models more square. It's a sheet of metal with alot of square magnates. I have relized cardboard is not the best workboard.
Angie332

Postby zoomie » Thu Jun 26, 2014 1:44 am