Am I getting too technical

Ask other modelers for a little help / knowledge ?

Am I getting too technical

Postby Szyp » Fri Jun 03, 2011 3:55 pm

Is there any sense to letting wood from a new kit ( B17G just arrived) sit overnight to acclimate (Good word, huh?) itself to the ambient (there I go again) humidity where I am going to build it?
I know with fancy veneers it is a good idea, but does it apply to balsa? This is my first try back, and I will go slow, interrupted only by my Spitfire-LC when it arrives ( to lower the learning curve), and I want to do it right. :?:
Szyp

Postby StefanJ » Fri Jun 03, 2011 5:37 pm

I usually let models sit unbuilt for one to five years before I start in on construction.

Not to let the wood acclimate, but because I'm either too lazy, discouraged, or busy to get around to it!

But seriously: I've never heard of having to let balsa acclimate. But it couldn't hurt, right? Give yourself a day to organize the parts, pin out the plans, etc.

Unrelated:

I often let model rockets sit "in primer" for months or even years before I paint them. Again, it is out of procrastination, but it does help to let all of the solvents in the primer (and in fillers underneath the primer) to totally work themselves out. Rushed coats of paint sometimes bubble up because there's still solvent down there.

Not a problem that's ever likely to bother a model plane, except perhaps a heavily coated display model.
StefanJ

Postby Szyp » Fri Jun 03, 2011 7:28 pm

That is true of primer- all kinds- the longer you let it sit and dry, the better the final finish.
Szyp

Postby ADW 123 » Fri Jun 03, 2011 10:27 pm

i see no sense in this. just build it. that is what i do.
ADW 123

Postby Szyp » Sat Jun 04, 2011 3:43 pm

I agree. Too tempting a target to stall....
Szyp

fully factory airconditioned air from their fully factory

Postby BillParker » Wed Jun 08, 2011 11:46 am