Cessna 170 build

Ask other modelers for a little help / knowledge ?

Cessna 170 build

Postby mr.charlse » Tue Mar 15, 2011 9:09 am

Hello.
Since this is my first thread on this forum i thought i would make a small introduction.
I am 13 years old and live in Sweden. I have been on this forum, checking out several builds and other building tips for quite some time now, and have now decided to join the fun :D .my model-making experience is limited but i think that i am still an average builder. most of my builds before this one have usually not gone so well, but using the tips i have received from everyone at this forum i hope that this one will fly.
Now, on to the build.
i intend to build my Cessna 170 for rubber power, and have replaced all parts with my own parts made from contest grade balsa, from Graupner and hobbyträ (hobby wood). i am using a light-weight plastic prop and will glue everything together with white-glue. i have also decided to make some parts that where previously divided into one, and i have made rudder/elevator in only 1.5 mm balsa

I will post pictures of my progress as it gets along.
-Mr.charlse
mr.charlse

Postby mr.charlse » Tue Mar 15, 2011 9:57 am

You got me. :D
I am from Sweden.
mr.charlse

Postby mr.charlse » Wed Mar 16, 2011 3:25 am

Im almost finished with the wing. I have done some sanding, but the final polishing will be done before the covering.
mr.charlse

Postby mr.charlse » Thu Mar 17, 2011 3:16 am

By the way,
Since my fin and tail-plane are made of all balsa ( very wobbly ) should i reinforce it somehow?
mr.charlse

Postby Phugoid » Thu Mar 17, 2011 6:05 am

Why Aren't you using the "built up" parts as supplied (or at least lighter copies of them)?