Spitfire series 400 build (newb)

Ask other modelers for a little help / knowledge ?

Spitfire series 400 build (newb)

Postby GFG » Wed Nov 17, 2010 3:50 am

Hi everyone

For the sake of being polite I thought I should introduce myself to the group before asking for any advice. I am 26 year old South African and I am busy building a Guillows series 400 Spitfire. This will be my second competed Guillows build so I am still a newbie at this. But I must add that I am learning a lot and I do love working with Balsa wood.

So far the build has gone relatively smoothly without any major hiccups. One thing which is however turning out to be a headache is the alignment of the stringers. I wasn’t happy abouth the position of the die cut notches in the formers included in the kit, and I could see beforehand that they were going to be skew on the fuse.

In order to get a straight fuselage I remade the formers so that I can line the stringers up and then cut the notches. This worked relatively well for the one side of that that was pinned down to the plans. But I do not know how I will approach the other side (which is built in the "air"). Should I glue the formers in place and eyeball where the stringers should be? Or should I cut in the notches before I glue them in place? Any advice from the veteran builders will be appreciated.

In hindsight I should have made all of the notches in the formers before I started to glue them in place. But I was not sure wether by doing this the stringers would come out straigth. I will post some pics as soon as I have the fuselage completed.

Regards

GFG
GFG

Postby ADW 123 » Wed Nov 17, 2010 3:55 pm