Reducing weight

Ask other modelers for a little help / knowledge ?

Reducing weight

Postby coffeedream » Fri Nov 06, 2009 1:13 pm

Hi all,

I've built a 500 series Spitfire using kit wood and kit paper.

It's my first build, and I found the process difficult but entertaining.

The entire build weighed in at about 25 grams. But balancing the plane with weight in the nose put it over 30. The thing flew like a brick most of the time.

After several crashes i'm reworking the model, starting with the tail, to reduce weight.

Any suggestions?

Also, i find that the wing shears away from the fuselage often. Any way to reinforce the bond without introducing too much weight?

Thanks,
Rob
coffeedream

Building a Guillows to fly with rubber (making it light that

Postby Maurice » Tue Nov 24, 2009 9:12 pm

Hi Coffeedream,
Let me say I love Guillows (biased) BUT, their wood selection is, well, somewhat on the heavy side but not always but mostly. I have built them stock standard and have been impressed with their vertical performance downwards. Now flights of well over a minute are regular. So what is the secret? There are many options. Guillows supply magnificent plans and I follow them religiously but I do the following.
Sand ALL fuselage formers to 1/32" (0.8mm).
Sand ALL wing ribs to the same thickness as the fuselage formers.
Change ALL the stringers to a lighter grade balsa. You will need to invest in a set of jewllers scales but these scales will assist significantly in identifying too heavy balsa.
With the wings, remove half the ribs; it doesn't detract from the wings performance at all.
Move the motor peg forward one bay; it will save adding a lot of nose weight to get it to balance.
If you are using 1/4" LE check the weight and if possible, use a Dremel or whatever, to groove out the back edge; makes it sugnificantly lighter.