Tissue for dummies?

Ask other modelers for a little help / knowledge ?

Tissue for dummies?

Postby bsnider » Wed Mar 07, 2007 10:52 pm

First and foremost, let me thank you guys for the help you have already provided. I have been reading the forum for some time now and have noted some useful tips... I am new to the hobby and know this topic has been addressed. I must be an idiot because I can not get my covering to turn out worth a darn!

Back groud information... I am interested in Guillow's planes from a purely static perspective. I stumbled across photographs of a 172 on the virtual aerodrome (made by a gentleman who I believe is a member of this forum) and desided that I had to make one for myself... I purchased one the next day which is now waiting for me on my shelf once I get my act together. I have tried the beech and now a cessna 150 with no luck. I trided dope on one and white glue on the other. On the first one, I used that tissue that came with the plane and on the second I purchased some "thicker" tissue from my local hobby shop.

I will try to explain my problem.... I used two base coats, sanded between them and then covered with tissue. I used the dry approach to apply the covering and then "applied water mist" and when that was dry I applied two coats of glue or dope depending. Well, the covering is not that tight, or at least as tight as I would like. In short, it looks like garbage! I know it will take practice, but if anyone could make any suggestions, I would appreciate it. Also, since these planes won't fly... could I used sray paint? Is there a way to apply primer to a covering or must I use colored dope... I would love to avoid dope, even with proper equipment, it still really stinks.

Sorry for the long post. Heck, at 38, I am just a child in this forum...
Thanks, Brian
bsnider

Postby fychan » Thu Mar 08, 2007 3:39 am